# In addition to these instructions/checklist, print the following forms to create the entire packet:

### **DR8439**

**Event Coordinator Application** 

## INFORMATION AND DOCUMENT CHECKLIST FOR FREMONT COUNTY SPECIAL EVENT PERMITS

As of September 2024

Listed below are the fees, forms, and supporting documents that must be submitted to Fremont County, the local licensing authority, and the State Liquor Enforcement Division, for a special event permit. All forms and documents must be properly signed and correspond exactly with the name of the applicant.

\*\*Note- Special Event Applications should be submitted at least 45 days before the event date, and the property has to be posted (provided by our office) at least 10 days prior to the Public Hearing.

#### 1. License Application.

Complete form **DR8439.** All answers must be printed in blue or black ink or typewritten. All questions must be answered, and boxes must be checked (if applicable). Applicants may obtain a copy of the Colorado Liquor, Beer, and Wine, Special Event Code at **SBG.Colorado.gov/Liquor** (under Laws, Rules, and Regulations).

#### 2. Event Coordinator Application.

Complete this form provided by the County, answering all questions.

#### Fees.

Type of PermitTotal State Fees\*Total County Fees\*Special Event\$0.00\$100.00

\*County fees should be made payable to "Fremont County Clerk". Fees being paid with a check must be in the form of a money order, company check, or certified funds.

#### 4. <u>Diagram of Premises</u>.

Must submit a floor plan or diagram of the area where alcohol will be present (no larger than 8 ½ X 11). If multiple levels, each floor should be drawn separately. The diagram must include any bar, storage area for beer and/or liquor, and any other areas (outdoor seating, etc.) that is to be licensed for the sale, service, and/or consumption on the premises. Exterior areas should show type of control (fences, walls, exit/entry points, etc.). Dimensions must be included; however, the drawing does not have to be to scale. The **licensed** portion of the diagram must be bold/outlined.

**NOTE**: Once the diagram has been accepted and approved, the premises **cannot** be changed or modified.

#### 5. **Proof of Property Possession.**

Deed in the name of the applicant (or name matching question #2 on the application), must be date stamped/filed with the Clerk & Recorder's Office. **OR**Lease in the name of the applicant (or name matching question #2 on the application). **OR**Lease assignment in the name of the applicant (or name matching question #2 on the application), with proper consent from the landlord and acceptance by the applicant. **OR**Other agreement, if not deed or lease, in the name of the applicant (or name matching question #2 on the application).

#### 6. Certificate of Good Standing.

Will need to print a current certificate from the Secretary of State's website. Can be found here: https://www.sos.state.co.us/pubs/business/businessHome.html under Services. Must be within the last 2 years for non-profit organizations (if not incorporated). For non-profit charters or a political candidate, you will need copies of reports and statements that were filed with the Secretary of State's Office.

#### After Required Documents are Submitted:

- 1. Within 30 days after the filing of the complete application and all other required documents, the County Attorney will review the application. After legal review and approval to move forward, a Public Hearing will be scheduled for the day the Board of County Commissioners will be meeting (usually the 2<sup>nd</sup> and 4<sup>th</sup> Tuesday of every month).
- 2. Not less than 10 days prior to the Public Hearing, the premises to be licensed must be posted with a sign provided by the County Clerk's Office. Proof of posting (pictures of the sign hanging in general public view from outside) must be provided by this deadline. Any pictures submitted after the 10-day deadline will not be accepted. The property will have to be reposted and the Public Hearing rescheduled, no exceptions.
- 3. Responsibility for making a record of the proceedings at the public hearing rests entirely with the applicant. Under most circumstances, there can be no appeal to the court of the decision of the Board of County Commissioners unless a record of the hearing has been made.
- 4. It is the responsibility of the applicant to present to the Board of County Commissioners at the Public Hearing, all documents and evidence required by law, and failure to present one or more required documents or evidence may be grounds for denial of the application. Applicants may choose to be represented by an attorney at the Public Hearing but are not required to do so.
- 5. Following approval of the application by the Board of County Commissioners, the County Clerk's Office will complete the application and notify the State Department of Revenue, Liquor Enforcement Division of the event. The County will then issue the license. The applicant will be notified that the license is ready and can either be picked up or mailed.
- 6. There are special provisions for premises to be licensed that have not been completed or are being remodeled. The statutes should be consulted in such situations, prior to filing the application. Prior to the County issuing a license, all new establishments, and requests for approval of a renewal license will be inspected by the County Health Officer, Building, and Sheriff's Department.

# **CHECKLIST FOR SPECIAL EVENT PERMITS**

Permit Application- form DR8439
 Event Coordinator Application
 Fee for the Permit- one to Fremont County Clerk (\$100.00).  No Personal Checks.
 Diagram/map of the Premises- with bold outline of all areas where alcohol will be
 Deed, Lease and/or Purchase Contract, Operating Agreement
 Certificate of Good Standing
Proof of Posting- this will be after all documents listed above have