Special Event Liquor Permit- General Information

(as of September 9, 2024)

• A special event permit may be issued to the following:

- Has been incorporated under the laws of this state for purposes of a social, fraternal, patriotic, political, educational, or athletic nature, and not for pecuniary gain
- Is a regularly chartered branch, lodge, or chapter of a national organization or society organized for the purposes specified in subsection (1)(a)(I) of the Colorado Special Event Liquor Permit Code and is nonprofit in nature
- o Is a regularly established religious or philanthropic institution
- o Is a state institution of higher education
- A political candidate who has filed the necessary reports and statements with the secretary of state pursuant to article 45 of title
 1
- o Any municipality, county, or special district
- Chamber of Commerce

• Due dates and deadlines to be aware of ahead of time:

- The application, supporting documentation, maps, fees, etc. must be turned into the Clerk's Office no later than 45 days before the event. If it is late, a letter will need to be included explaining why
- The location of the event must be posted with our sign not less than 10 days prior to the public hearing. This will only be issued once all paperwork has been reviewed and accepted (keep in mind, public hearings are typically only scheduled the second and fourth Tuesday of each month)
- The special event permit must be approved, and notification sent to the State of Colorado (by our office) at least ten days prior to the event (again, keep in mind that this happens at the public hearing, which only happens twice a month)

- Forms and fees that need to be submitted:
 - o DR8439- Application for a Special Events Permit
 - Needs to be completely filled out- we will not help complete these or fill in blanks
 - forms can be downloaded from:
 https://sbg.colorado.gov/liquor-forms-by-number
 - Event Coordinator Application form is provided by the County and needs to be completely filled out.
 - Diagram of the area to be permitted- should be on 8 ½ x 11 paper and should reflect bars, walls, partitions, ingress, egress, and dimensions. If it is going to be held outside, please submit evidence of intended control, i.e., fencing, ropes, barriers, etc.
 - Copy of deed, lease, or written permission of owner for use of premises
 - Certificate of good corporate standing (nonprofit) issued by the Colorado Secretary of State within the last two years; or
 - if not incorporated, a nonprofit charter; or
 - if a political candidate, attach copies of reports and statements that were filed with the Colorado Secretary of State
 - A check for \$100.00, made payable to Fremont County- MUST be a business check, no personal checks accepted. Please disregard the fees listed on the DR8439 application. The only fee due is the \$100.00 to the county
 - Once your paperwork is accepted and a public hearing date has been scheduled, you will need to pick up your sign from our office to post on the property (again this MUST be done 10 days prior to the meeting). You will need to send us proof of the posting prior to the meeting (pictures of it hanging up)